Discover SIUE

Learn More About the SIUE Experience from the Students Themselves

My Favorite Campus Activity

Posted by Jon on February 24, 2010

Since my first semester here at SIUE I have been involved in intramural sports. When I first registered a team for soccer, it was just a group of guys I had met in the dorm. We were just playing to socialize and have fun; some people on the team had never played soccer before. We would have fun on the court, even though I believe we lost nearly every game. We did however, manage to beat the now powerhouse in SIUE intramural sports, Jon Bon’s Athletics. We didn’t care about losing; it was just something fun to do on a school night. I did meet other soccer players and some friends along the way. I have also played a semester of intramural flag football and roller hockey, although the soccer team has been a constant.

As the years progressed, our soccer team changed form a few times. We have been a threat, and even joined forces with a rival squad at one point. From that point on we have been competitive in both the men’s and co-ed leagues. We were champions of the co-ed indoor soccer league in fall of 2009! If you don’t believe me, we have the pictures and t-shirts to prove it. Indoor roller hockey was a ton of fun as well. I loved speeding around the rink and taking slap shots at the goalie. Intramurals has been a fun distraction from classes and work. It’s also free and keeps me active; it’s by far my favorite on campus activity.  It comes highly recommended from this senior.

Leave a comment